albert einstein society
  

Home

Einstein House

Opening Hours/
Entrance Fees/
Guided Tours

Einstein Medal

Einstein Lectures

Einstein and Bern

Albert Einstein Society

News

Contact

Links

 

"It is crucially important that the general public has the opportunity to inform itself knowledgeably and intelligibly on the endeavours and results of scientific research. Restricting scientific findings to a small group of people weakens the philosophical spirit of a nation and leads to its intellectual impoverishment." (Albert Einstein, Princeton, 1948)

With this quotation in mind, the Albert Einstein Society was founded on 28 June 1977, on the initiative of Dr. Max Flückiger. To his Presidency we owe, among other things, the opening of Einstein House, the renaming of a street in Bern after Einstein, the awarding of the Einstein Medal, and the appointment of a Scientist Board of Trustees.
On 14 March 1979, Einstein House was opened at Kramgasse No. 49 in Bern to mark the 100th anniversary of Einstein's birth. The Albert Einstein Society sees it as its duty to ensure that Einstein's former flat remains open to the public as a commemoration site.


The Albert Einstein Society has the following objectives:

· Running Einstein House as a commemoration site.
· Awarding the Einstein Medal
· Managing the Einstein Club
· Publishing the Albert Einstein Society Newsletter: "Olympia"
· Organizing special events for its members.
· Maintaining contact with the University of Bern and other public institutions and authorities.

The Albert Einstein Society is very happy to welcome new members. The Managing Committee meets several times a year in order to discuss current affairs, new ideas, etc.


The Einstein Club

For club members the "Einstein Parlour" is available as a historic site for meetings, small receptions, etc. For this jewel in the heart of the old part of Bern there is a membership fee, of course. Club members may be individuals, firms, executive boards, etc. Members of the Einstein Club support the objectives of the Albert Einstein Society. Interested?


The Albert Einstein Society Newsletter: "Olympia"
DThe Albert Einstein Society issues a regular newsletter containing information on its activities, about Einstein House, and interesting or amusing facts about Einstein's life. A report about the awarding of the Einstein Medal and general information is also included.
"Olympia" may be ordered from
Einstein House in German or in English.

 


Further Activities

In addition to its general meeting, the Albert Einstein Society organizes special events for its members every year, such as talks, guided tours, common meals, etc.


How Do You Become a Member?

The Albert Einstein Society has more than 250 members from Switzerland and abroad. New members are warmly welcome. The projects of the Einstein Society are of a cultural nature, most of them being carried out on the basis of volunteer work. The Einstein Society is therefore grateful for membership fees and, of course, donations. Upon payment of the annual fee (sFr. 50.-) you receive written information on the Albert Einstein Society, are invited to all its activities, and get the "Olympia" newsletter.
Interested?
(PC 30-38112-0, Valiant Bank, 3001 Bern, for 16 1.231.002.06 6300, Einstein-Haus,
Kramgasse 49, Postfach 638, 3000 Bern 8)

 

The Managing Committee of the Albert Einstein Society

Prof. Dr. Hans-Rudolf Ott, President

  T 044 / 926 45 81

Prof. Dr. Peter Minkowski, Vice President

  T 031 / 631 86 24
F 031 / 631 38 21
Heinz Messerli, Treasurer 
T 031 / 320 69 61
Dr. Hansjörg Friedli   T 032 / 372 16 60
Felix Grütter
  T 031 / 951 16 09
Walter Inäbnit T 031 / 978 01 00
Dr. Peter Kuentz   T 031 / 301 52 24
Prof. Dr. Albert Matter

 

T 031 / 911 61 36
Prof. Dr. Jürg Schacher   T 031 / 631 40 61 (G)
T 031 / 721 08 52 (P)

Georg von Wattenwyl

 

T 031 / 771 21 52
Dr. Stefan Widmer   T 031 / 312 06 80
 

   
     

 

 

25215 visitors, 25215 requests (since August 2003)

albert einstein gesellschaft
  

Startseite

Einstein-Haus

Öffnungszeiten/
Eintrittspreise/
Führungen

Einstein-Medaille

Einstein Lectures

Einstein und Bern

Albert Einstein Gesellschaft

Aktuell

Kontakt

Links

 

"Es ist von zentraler Bedeutung, dass die Allgemeinheit sich umfassend und verständlich über wissenschaftliche Forschung und ihre Resultate informieren kann. Wenn man wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse einem kleinen Kreis von Menschen vorbehält, wird dadurch der philosophische Sinn eines Volkes geschwächt, was zu seiner geistigen Verarmumg führt." (Albert Einstein, Princeton 1948)

Im Sinne dieses Zitats wurde am 28. Juni 1977 die Albert Einstein-Gesellschaft auf Initiative von Dr. Max Flückiger gegründet. Seiner Amtszeit sind unter anderem die Eröffnung des Einstein-Hauses, die Umbenennung einer Strasse nach dem Namen Einsteins, die Verleihung der Einstein-Medaille und die Gründung des wissenschaftlichen Kuratoriums zu verdanken.
Am 14. März 1979 - zum 100. Geburtstag Einsteins - wurde an der Kramgasse 49 in Bern das Einstein-Haus eröffnet. Die Gesellschaft hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, dass die Wohnung von Albert Einstein als Gedenkstätte der Oeffentlichkeit zugänglich bleibt.


Die Albert Einstein-Gesellschaft ist ein Verein mit folgenden Zielen:

· Führung des als Gedenkstätte eingerichteten Einstein-Hauses
· Verleihung der Einstein-Medaille
· Organisation des Einstein - Clubs
· Herausgabe der Zeitschrift Olympia
· Durchführung von Veranstaltungen für ihre Mitglieder
· Pflege des Kontakts mit der Universität Bern, öffentlichen Institutionen und Behörden

Die Einsteingesellschaft freut sich über jedes neue Mitglied. Ihr Vorstand trifft sich mehrmals pro Jahr, um das laufende Geschäft, neue Ideen, usw. zu diskutieren.

 


Einsteinclub
Für Clubmitglieder steht die "Einstein-Stube" als historischer Ort für Sitzungen, kleine Empfänge usw. zur Verfügung. Das Kleinod in der Altstadt von Bern hat allerdings seinen Preis. Clubmitglieder sind neben Privatpersonen auch Firmen, Geschäftsleitungen u.s.w. Die Mitglieder des Einsteinclubs unterstützen die Ziele der Albert Einstein-Gesellschaft. Interessiert?

Zeitschrift Olympia
Die Gesellschaft gibt jedes Jahr eine Zeitschrift heraus, in der einerseits Informationen zum Vereinsleben, vieles rund ums Einsteinhaus, andererseits Wissenswertes oder Amüsantes aus Einsteins Leben zu lesen ist. Ein Bericht über die Verleihung der Einsteinmedaille, sowie allgemeine Informationen runden das Vereinsorgan ab. "Olympia" kann im Einstein-Haus bezogen werden.

Weitere Aktivitäten

Neben der Einstein-Feier organisiert die Albert Einstein-Gesellschaft jedes Jahr spezielle Veranstaltungen für ihre Mitglieder. Dies kann ein Vortrag, eine Führung, ein gemeinsames Essen usw. sein.


Wie wird man Mitglied?

Die Albert Einstein-Gesellschaft umfasst gegenwärtig über 250 Mitglieder im In- und Ausland. Sie freut sich sehr über neue Vereinsmitglieder. Da der kulturelle Verein seine Projekte überwiegend ehrenamtlich realisiert, sind die Mitgliederbeiträge - und natürlich auch Spenden - stets willkommen! Nach Einzahlen des Jahresbeitrags von sFr. 50.- erhält man schriftliche Unterlagen zur Einsteingesellschaft, wird zu allen Veranstaltungen eingeladen und erhält die Zeitschrift "Olympia".
Interessiert?

(PC 30-38112-0, Valiant Bank, 3001 Bern, zugunsten von 16 1.231.002.06 6300, Einstein-Haus,
Kramgasse 49, Postfach 638, 3000 Bern 8)

 

Vorstand der Albert Einstein-Gesellschaft

Prof. Dr. Hans-Rudolf Ott, Präsident

  T 044 / 633 23 11

Heinz Messerli, Kassier 

  T 031 / 320 69 61
Dr. Paul Burkhard
T 031 / 331 77 36
Prof. Dr. Silvio Decurtins
Walter Inäbnit   T 031 / 978 01 00
Prof. Dr. Jürg Schacher

 

T 031 / 721 08 52
Georg von Wattenwyl   T 031 / 771 21 52

Dr. Stefan Widmer

 

T 031 / 312 06 80
 
     

 

 

6177 Besucher, 6177 Anfragen (seit August 2003)